Toast and Live Hospitality POS side by side: published Australian prices, support, setup, hardware, payments and staff tools, with the source for every figure.
Prices checked 27 Sep 2026 from each company’s Australian pricing page. See sources
What’s the main difference between Live and Toast?
Toast is a package of its own hardware, integrated payments and software, while Live is software that runs on the devices and EFTPOS you already have.
Toast lists Starter from $139 a month and Essentials at $269 a month (GST not stated), with a custom quote for bigger set-ups. Live is $41, $80 or $125 per venue a month billed yearly, or $49, $95 or $149 billed monthly, including GST, with free setup and 24/7 support on every plan.
Price at a glance
What does each cost?
Live’s prices include GST. Where a competitor’s page doesn’t say whether GST is included, we show the price as published and mark it “GST not stated”.
Published prices, checked 27 Sep 2026
Topic
Live Hospitality POS
Toast
Entry plan
Floor: $41 a month per venue, billed yearly ($490 a year), or $49 billed monthly. GST included
Starter: from $139 a month (GST not stated). For single-location restaurants needing 1 to 2 terminals; includes the first hardware terminal subscription, with charges for more devices; new customers and single locations only
Middle plan
Standard: $80 a month, billed yearly ($950 a year), or $95 billed monthly. GST included
Essentials: $269 a month (GST not stated). Adds a kitchen display system and all-in-one handheld
Top plan
Multi-venue: $125 per venue a month, billed yearly ($1,490 a year), or $149 billed monthly. GST included
Custom quote for any number of devices
Yearly billing
2 months free: $490, $950 or $1,490 per venue a year
Not stated
Card processing
Keep your own EFTPOS: Tyro, Zeller, Square or your bank’s, at your provider’s rates
Integrated processing at a per-transaction flat rate; the rate isn’t published
Minimum term
No minimum term: monthly plans run month to month
Not stated
Hardware
Use your own tablets, computers and receipt printer
Toast hardware; Toast advises against using your own
Setup
Free full setup by our team
Hardware configuration, installation and go-live support included; upfront hardware and implementation costs vary
Features
How do the features compare?
Live’s column covers confirmed Live features. Toast’s column uses only what its pricing page says; anything it doesn’t mention is marked “Not stated”.
Features, from published pages checked 27 Sep 2026
Topic
Live Hospitality POS
Toast
Support
24/7 by phone and chat inside the app, on every plan
24/7 by phone, email and web, included in every subscription
Rostering and timesheets
Roster, clock on at the till, timesheets and payroll CSV (Standard and Multi-venue)
Scheduling & Team Communication add-on; price not stated
Membership and loyalty
Your own tiers, automatic tier rules and tier discounts (Standard)
Loyalty in the Marketing Suite add-on; price not stated
Happy hour
Automatic, with four offer types including buy one get one free (Standard)
Not stated
Inventory and costing
Stock in ml, grams or pieces, recipes and margins (Standard)
Supplier & Accounting Suite add-on; price not stated
Payroll
Payroll CSV of approved hours (Standard and Multi-venue)
Payroll Suite add-on; price not stated
Which suits you
Is Toast or Live the better fit for your venue?
Each is built for a different kind of venue. Here’s how to decide.
Toast may suit you if
You want hardware, payments and software from one provider
You want kitchen display screens and handhelds in a bundle (Essentials)
You want hardware installation and go-live support, as Toast’s page lists
You want offline mode, which Toast’s page lists
Live may suit you if
You want to use the tablets, computers and EFTPOS you already have
You want published prices that include GST, from $41 a month, billed yearly
You want no minimum term, with monthly plans that run month to month
You want membership tiers and happy hour included from Standard
Switching
How do I switch from Toast to Live?
Four steps, and we do most of the work.
Send us your menu
Upload your current menu with the demo form, or send it after your demo.
We build your venue
Menu, categories, options and modifiers, plus your floor plan and tables, all free.
Keep your EFTPOS
Toast’s payments are integrated with its POS. With Live you choose your EFTPOS provider: Tyro, Zeller, Square or your bank.
Start trading
We roll Live out on your tablets and computers, connect your printer, and your team takes its first order.
FAQ
Live vs Toast: questions, answered
Can I use my own hardware with Live?
Yes. Live runs in the browser on any tablet or computer, works with your receipt printer and your own EFTPOS, and we connect them during free setup.
Do Toast’s prices include GST?
Toast’s Australian pricing page doesn’t say. We show its prices as published. Live’s prices always include GST.
Does Toast include rostering?
Toast lists Scheduling & Team Communication as an add-on, with no price stated. Live includes roster, timesheets and payroll CSV from Standard, at $80 a month billed yearly ($95 billed monthly).
When were these prices checked?
On 27 Sep 2026, from Toast’s Australian pricing page, which was last updated on 9 February 2026.
Where do these facts come from?
From each company’s own Australian pricing page, checked on 27 Sep 2026. Prices and features change, so check the source before you decide.
Toast pricing (Australia), checked 27 Sep 2026 (page last updated 9 February 2026). The page doesn’t say whether prices include GST.
Square, Lightspeed and Toast are trademarks of their respective owners. Live Hospitality POS and Plain Sense Consulting are not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them. Live Hospitality POS prices are from our pricing page.